The Crimean “crisis”. Alaska back to Russia?

“The world is changed, I feel it in the water, I feel it in the earth. I smell it in the air….”

I guess that 99,9% Americans don’t even know where Ukraine is, not to mention the Crimean peninsula. I’m not saying that this is really the case, but so my impression is.

In my opinion this is a very good educational video. To say you the truth, I was a little bit surprised to hear such comments from the other side of the world.

Believe it or not, but I always thought that Alaska is a small spot on the American continent (just never bothered myself to look at the map).

But when I heard that people petitioned  the Obama Administration  for secession of Alaska from the United States and joining Russia, I had a look at the map.

http://www.akhistorycourse.org/articles/article.php?artID=315

Wow, that’s a good piece of land! Sometimes international events contribute to self-education….

https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/alaska-back-russia/SFG1ppfN

Leave a Reply

